Reliable Manufacturer of high quality custom championship rings.


MLB History and Team Profiles

September 15, 2023

Baseball was the earliest professional sport to develop in the United States, and the first professional league (National Association, 1871-1875) was founded in 1871, but due to numerous problems during its infancy, it was taken over five years later by what is now the National League.

The National League took all the power to run the teams back to the owners, so the players had no guaranteed rights, and the National League's monopoly on the market caused a steady stream of leagues to be born that challenged the National League, and these new leagues absorbed players and coaches who had been fired from the National League and introduced more new ideas to appeal to the fans.

Prior to the stabilization of the major league structure, there were four short-lived professional leagues, which were, in order of formation, the American Association (1882-1891), the Union Association (1884), the Player League (1890), the Federal League (1914-1891), the National League (1914-1891), and the National League (1914-1891). League, 1914-1915).

The other pillar of Major League Baseball ─ the American League was founded in 1901, due to the National League's poor operation, from twelve teams downsized to eight teams, namely: (Boston Beaneaters, the predecessor of the Atlanta Braves) (Brooklyn Superbas, the predecessor of the Los Angeles Dodgers) (Chicago Orphans, the predecessor of the Chicago Cubs) ( Cincinnati Reds, former San Francisco Giants), Philadelphia Phillies, Pittsburgh Pirates, and St. Louis Cardinals. The result of the massive cuts in players and coaches allowed another league to begin to survive, and the American League absorbed these released resources to also form eight teams, five of which are based in cities that do not have NL teams.

Five of these teams were based in cities that did not have an NL team: the Baltimore Orioles (formerly the New York Yankees), the Cleveland Blues (formerly the Cleveland Indians), the Detroit Tigers, the Milwaukee Brewers, and the Washington Senators. Senators, formerly the Minnesota Twins), while the other three stronger teams competed with the NL for fans: (Boston Somersets, formerly the Boston Red Sox) (Chicago White Stockings, formerly the Chicago White Sox) and (Philadelphia Athletics, formerly the Oakland Athletics).

Two years later, the American League surprisingly began to outperform the National League in total viewership. As the American League continued to pay high salaries to attract National League stars to jump ship, the National League, in order to avoid both losing, agreed to negotiate with the American League, and at the end of 1902, the two leagues held the "Cincinnati Conference" to unify the system, rules and management, and also began to hold the so-called "World Series The so-called "World Series" began to be held, with the champions of the two leagues competing for the championship.

Prior to 1969, the two leagues held separate tournaments, with regular season records directly determining the league champions, and the two league champions playing in a seven-game, four-win World Series. With the addition of eight new teams in the 1960s: the Los Angeles Angels in 1961 and the Washington Senators (later moved to Arlington, Texas and renamed the Texas Rangers);

Houston 45 Pistols (later renamed the Astros) and the New York Mets in 1962 and the 1969 Montreal Expos (later relocated to Washington, D.C. to be renamed the Washington Nationals), the San Diego Padres, the Kansas City Royals, and the Seattle Pilots (later relocated to Milwaukee to be renamed the Milwaukee Brewers), each league went from eight to twelve teams, and in order to add more watchability and tension to the games, Major League Baseball moved the playoffs to two rounds. First of all, the first roughly according to geographic location of the league into the East and West District each six teams, according to the results of routine games to determine the champion of each division, the first round is called the League Championship Game, by the two league's East and West District champions played respectively (four out of seven system), the winner of the League Championship, advancing to the second round (still known as the World Series). There have been three moves to add new teams since the league implemented the division system:

1977: Seattle Mariners, Toronto Blue Jays

1993: Colorado Rockies, Florida Marlins

1998: Arizona Rattlers, Tampa Bay Devil Rays

In 1994, the total number of teams had reached 28, with seven teams in each division, and Major League Baseball revamped the playoff system to three rounds (see Playoffs section) and changed the divisions to three divisions per league (East, Central and West), allowing the divisions the teams belonged to to fit perfectly with the geography of their location. Unfortunately, the 1994 Major League Baseball Players Strike, which resulted in the abortion of the World Series, prevented these new systems from being officially implemented until the 1995 season.

Basic Information
  • Year Established
  • Business Type
  • Country / Region
  • Main Industry
  • Main Products
  • Enterprise Legal Person
  • Total Employees
  • Annual Output Value
  • Export Market
  • Cooperated Customers

Send your inquiry

Choose a different language
Current language:English